a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The B in October

Tiny Tuesday: a lovely surprise

The weather forecast indicated that we would have a pleasant dry day, so I shouldn't have been too surprised at having to ride to and from Southmead Hospital in the warmish drizzle(!)  It was actually a very enjoyable ride, being half term there didn't seem to be quite as much traffic on the roads.  I had to refill the tank on the way back, and its notable that petrol still seems to be going up in price on an almost daily basis even at cheapest places to fill up.  

It had stopped raining this afternoon and I popped out to get a macro shot of something outdoors for Tiny Tuesday.  In the course of an hour's searching I hadn't found a single beetle, but I did come up with a couple of fly shots, and managed to miss a wasp.  The wasp landed on my right hand, but wouldn't stay still while I tried to get the camera into my left hand to take its portrait and buzzed off, the little swine.

I was just thinking that it was going to have to be the fly when I came across this healthy looking bumble bee.  I've got several shots I was pleased with, but I've given you the one of it sticking out its tongue - and why not?!  I was tempted to upload it at a 100% resolution as there's quite a bit of detail in the eyes, but in the end I've chosen to go with a looser crop that shows the context as it makes a more pleasing composition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.