Great Tit, Shifting Red

This morning I was eating my breakfast, looking idly out the kitchen window, when this bird arrived on the rowan and proceeded to gorge itself on berries. There was a small flock and they stayed just a minute or so before moving on. One of it's flock companions landed on the washing line, nearer the house, and it was a great tit so I'm assuming its silhouetted friend is also that breed.
It was a day of minor activities, nothing really important being done.  However, all day my thoughts have been in Alan Garner's book, Red Shift, published in 1973. Yesterday I read an article in The Guardian about Garner and his latest book.
I've read his first two books but thought I'd try another. Over to BorrowBooks and "Red Shift" was one of the few books instantly available. I borrowed it, and started reading, just to check the download had worked as it should. That was a mistake because the rest of the evening disappeared as I continued reading. Likewise the morning when I woke up, until I'd finished the book. Then on to Good Reads to see what others had thought, a review or two, and Wikipedia for more information. Now I feel I probably need to read it once more, going a little more slowly.
As this reviewer writes this is definitely not a book for children!
I haven't read "The Owl Service" either so I have some treats awaiting me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.