Robbin' Hoodie

Slightly better today - at least the wind has died down and the rain seems to have given up for a while.
 
Had a dental check-up this afternoon and was rather annoyed to find that the surgery had made a mistake and put me down for March! Fortunately they found a cancellation for next month so that's not too bad. I rather naughtily pretended that I’d come home early from Brisbane for the appointment and I think that the poor girl believed me for a moment!
 
I took my camera with me as always in case a good Blip showed up and I drove along the seafront in search of something special. Nothing showed up and the view was quite misty, so on my way home I stopped by the bowling green and snapped this hooded crow - known as a hoodie in Scotland - as he eyed up tempting morsels on the turf. I hadn't realised that until 2002 the hoodie was thought to be a geographical variant of the carrion crow, but is now considered to be a separate species. 
 
Four subspecies of the hooded crow are now recognised; the northern European hooded crow, the eastern Mediterranean hooded crow, the southern European hooded crow and the Mesopotamian hooded crow which latter is sometimes considered a separate species called the Mesopotamian crow or Iraqi pied crow.
 
This last paragraph was news to me – don’t say that we never learn anything on Blipfoto!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.