Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Abbot's Hospital - Guildford

We have had very mild weather this week, and today, although rather blustery, was an unseasonal 18C. All change next week when the clocks have gone back and it is forecast to be much colder. I hate the short days once the clocks have gone back, the late afternoons are so dark and miserable, and I wish the clocks did not have to go back.  

After a good walk in the woods with Xena - where we met a gorgeous one year old male Viszla which only made me so broody for another puppy - I came home, had a coffee and did some chores before going to Guildford to meet a friend. I have not been to Guildford for months, probably more like 2 years so it was interesting to see all the new shops. We had lunch at Pho which is really delicious, light, tasty Vietnamese food.

I grabbed this shot of St Abbot's Hospital as I walked back to the car. This Jacobean building named Hospital of the Blessed Trinity, or Abbot's Hospital as it is known today, was founded in 1619 by George Abbot, Archbishop of Canterbury as a gift "out of my love to the place of my birth", as a place of shelter for the elderly poor of the town. 12 single men and 8 single women lived under the care of a resident Master. Over 400 years after the first residents moved in, Abbot's Hospital continues to offer town centre accommodation within a sociable and supportive environment for local elderly people - there are currently 30 residents living here.

Back home again I took Xena for another walk. In other news, I am smiling that in the  Chancellor's budget speech today he announced they have cut the duty on prosecco! Hooray for bubbles! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.