In My World

By JoanneInOz

Good Friday

This Easter I may have begun a brand new tradition. Yesterday, whilst tidying up the kitchen bench top, I picked up a cake recipe book which just happened to open up onto the page of Simnel Cake.

I read the description ~ "Simnel cake is the spiced, fruity cake topped with marzipan that is traditionally served at Easter. The classic simnel cake is covered with marzipan, while this one has a layer of marzipan running through the centre."

The appropriateness of this cake could not be overlooked!

# 1 ~ Today is Good Friday...Easter begins.

# 2 ~ Today is the day that I am posting my 365th blip...cake for my Blipday.

# 3 ~ If my dad was still here, it would be his birthday today and he was not a man to say no to a piece of freshly baked cake...

So, Happy Easter to all of my friends reading this journal entry!

and...

Thanks a million for all of the comments, encouragement and support I have received during the last year, as I have muddled my way through learning some of the techniques of photography. When I joined Blipfoto one year ago I had no idea what I was getting myself into, other than the required "add a photo to your journal each day". Who knew there would be so many fabulous people connected to this site!

and...

Happy birthday to my darling father. You were one in a million and I was blessed to have the privilege of calling you my Dad.

As fabulous as it would be to share a real piece of Simnel cake with you all, please accept this blip today as my virtual tea-party celebration with each and every one of you, for a special day, from my home to yours; from my heart to yours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.