Autumn glow

A quiet day, though not quite in line with the initial plan.
I'd intended to meet up with Val - an old friend - for a walk and a coffee. But she's got a sore throat and we both agreed to put off the walk for now.

Richard is in the middle of a bad patch with sciatica, and certainly wasn't wanting to go out walking.  I started getting ready to go out in search of fungi, with the camera, and then Josh rang.  He'd had "a slight accident" in the supermarket car park; could I text him the number of a local garage? Fortunately little damage had been done to the car; he'd scraped a bollard at low speed, but the tracking was in a mess and the car wasn't driveable. Cutting a long story short, Josh managed to find a local garage to pick him up with the car; I met him at the garage and lent him mine for the rest of the day.

After lunch I got back on the fungi track and went off into the Porter Valley, on the western edge of Sheffield. I'm not a knowledgable fungi spotter though I am working on it :-) Nevertheless, there were some interesting small finds.

I'd taken a head torch with me, as an ad hoc light to experiment with. When I looked through the images, I saw that the light was picking up a little fluorescence on some of the fungi - a nice surprise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.