WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Raptor

A honey buzzard I think. There's been a resident pair here for ages, but I've never got close to getting a usable photo of them. On the way back from town this afternoon I spotted them circling, so I leapt out of the car, grabbed the camera, and dashed after them. This was actually my first photo -- no chance to check the settings, I just pointed and clicked. 

I took a few more, and then the camera battery went flat -- in my haste I'd left the bag with the spare batteries in the car. At this precise moment, three more buzzards appeared from nowhere and they all started circling around above me. Bastards! I did have time to get back to the car and change the battery; they were still circling, but higher and further away, so I just watched.

It's been another lovely day, but it's getting a little chilly in the evenings, so I've lit the fire for the pleasure of it.

Link of the day: these unusual abstracts of items covered in volcanic ash on the island of La Palma. The volcano has been erupting for over a month now, and I've seen many spectacular photos and videos of the lava flows. These photos are a bit different ... a good inspiration for blips I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.