Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Lunch with friends

Today I had six of my friends come for lunch and pumpkin decorating.  There should have been six more but life happens...one had a sick husband, one had a sick mom, two had funerals, two were sick themselves so we had a much smaller, more intimate group.     It was probably a good thing as we were able to gather around the dining table instead of outside on the porch and deck.   It poured rain!

We decorated pumpkins and enjoyed a meal of Italian wedding soup, a warm turkey and provolone mini sandwich and pumpkin bars.  

Gathering for a meal and spending time laughing and talking does the heart good.

We talked about doing something similar for Christmas instead of going to a restaurant.   Just need to see what we can work out.   

About 2:30 a friend from my former work place texted to ask if I wanted to join them after they got off work to celebrate another friend's birthday..she is turning 55.  So I said yes and met them at 5:30.  It was so good to see a few people that I had not seen in a way.  We laughed about some silly things that happened when I was still working.  Good memories!     

A good day despite the heavy rain!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.