Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Old timers

My former work place had a luncheon today for retirees. There were probably 30 retirees plus some spouses attending and it was really nice to see people that I worked with for 30+ years.

This man I am hugging, Bob, was my supervisor for 15 years. I love this man and his wife. A funny story about a work day with him…we had to survey a property for a new electric line to a new house. The new line had to go through some woods from an adjoining property where the closest power pole was located. It was hot! I carried some wooden stakes for marking the route, Bob tried his best to measure the route with a measuring wheel. It took a couple hours! We were both sweaty and tired when we finished. This was a Friday so on Monday Bob comes to my office with this weird expression on his face. I was used to his “looks” but this one was different. He asked me if I felt bad. No. Said he had to go to the emergency room on Sunday am. What???!!!
He pulled up his pants legs and there were red bites all around the top of his boots. And other places that he said I did not need to see! He was covered with red bug/chiggers from his armpits to his feet so that he had to have a shot of something for relief from the itching and scratching! He got these bites from our walking in the woods. He was worried that I had them also but I had nothing! He said a few choice words about my luck! I just had to laugh about it!

To this day when I see him I have to ask if he has seen any red bugs lately! We always have a laugh but he also uses those choice words as we do!

Tomorrow a mini blip meet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.