A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A day out!

Well a morning really but it felt really good to be out and about.

I had two books awaiting collection at Waterstones so I donned my mask and took the bus into Bradford. 

Couldn’t resist a stop at the fountains in Centenary Square and the magnificent backdrop of the Town/City Hall. (Modelled on the famous bell tower in Florence’s Pallazo Vecchio). Waterstones in housed in the second best building in Bradford and one of the reasons I continue to use it, The Wool Exchange, the hub of the wool trade in the city at the height of the Victorian Industrial Age.

I got my books, had a good look around and a coffee before heading to the less interesting Broadway centre ( now without Debenhams) to return a parcel to M&S. To save paper you no longer get a printed invoice so have to find your original email! The first one I found was the replacement item but we got,there eventually! Did a bit of food shopping, not much as I had it all to carry it all.

Near the centre there were lots of pumpkin activities for half term. Children carving them and strange pumpkin headed folk on stilts. Outside Waterstones was a pumpkin flying a kite but they all seemed happy rather than spooky looking which I liked.

My favourite was this white pumpkin in his wellies. Thought he had a very welcoming smile so he is my blip.

The bus was due in four minutes when I got back to the interchange, so perfect timing. A few shops to visit in the village before walking home. Everyone seems to know I’ve had Covid but that’s villages for you. The important word is had and I’m now out!

Happy weekend everyone. Enjoy Halloween if it’s your thing.
I hear Eda is dressing as a rabbit for their hamlet ‘Trick or Treat’ night, sounds like my kind of event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.