Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A nostalgic wander

After a wild, stormy morning, I set off for a visit to Newcastle before meeting Julie for the theatre. We went to see Road at Northern Stage, on the edge of the university campus.

We were so underwhelmed by the play that we left in the interval. To be kind, the acting was unconvincing. The content of the play was at times melodramatic and banal. I won’t say more.

Before all of that, I loved mooching around Framlington Place and the old quad. I moved on to the Haymarket. The sun was low but warm on the buildings. In my blip you can see one end of the fine War Memorial with the Carillon of the Civic Centre as the back drop.

I would love to show you more of today’s images but will confine myself to adding the Great God Tyne as he dangles from a Civic Centre wall. The problem is that the image is rotated every time I try to upload it.

There was an enormous queue in Northumberland street, almost entirely of the young, who waited their turn to go into a Halloween costume shop. I thought/hoped they were protesting about climate change!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.