Marionb

By Marionb

The Gift.....

...That Keeps On Giving...

A gift basket arrived at my door yesterday ..along with the gift-giver, my good neighbour Diane who then stayed for coffee....This is an annual ritual. Diane grows hydrangeas; I do not. Diane grows a lot of things that I do not...she is a much better gardener than I am. She actually weeds. 

Diane is also generous and delivers things like blueberry jam, red pepper jelly, pickled beets and chili sauce - all consumable in that they disappear and then there is much anticipation for the next delivery. 

Hydrangeas on the other hand, SHOULD be consumable in that they are not expected to be permanent, but mine just won't say die. I do let them dry but I still don't expect them to hang on forever...I still have the ones she has given me from at least 2 years ago if not longer! They are still looking ever so lovely and seem to have no intention of being replaced.  And now this year's have arrived...What to do? I am starting to run out of vases! 

I took a family portrait ( see main blip) of the ones that already live here to make my point. Do they not look as if they are determined to stay?
I am not sure how many vases of hydrangeas are allowed before one can be called a hydrangea hoarder....but I fear I am getting close...One does not however, refuse such a lovely gift...from such a lovely friend, and I do love hydrangeas...so, what is one more?

Other than look for empty vases today, I did little else than toss fabric around and clear off my quilt wall lest I actually make some decisions and start cutting and arranging blocks... 

I did finish my novel for book club though..Spy novels have never been my thing but I did my best to keep everything straight..suspecting all along of course, who would win in the end... but knowing that it would take some complicated and daring chases through amazing and unusual settings before that got settled...I was not disappointed..the right spy won. 

Tomorrow? Hallowe-en...I had better test some of that candy to be sure it is OK for children. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.