Three Generations

Three Pre Generations in fact.

There's no way I'm going to get a family mother/daughter or father/son lookalike image today so I'm developing an idea from PelorusJack and looking at a technology family.

I was mad about these Palm Pre phones when they came out. They had a really nice WebOS operating system, wireless charging and slide out physical keyboards. Left to right the original Pre, then the improved Pre2, and on the right the further improved but HP badged Pre3. Sadly they didn't have the reach or the apps of the Apple and Google phones and they were doomed when HP purchased Palm and stopped WebOS development.

I've been keen on quite a bit of failed technology over the years. I used an Acorn computer at work when everyone else was using command line PCs (I remember our IT people saying graphical interfaces with mouse input would never catch on) and at home we had a Video2000 video recorder. We were actually burgled and the TV and recorder were stolen. The police couldn't believe anyone would be so stupid as to steal a V2000 system!

Update on our bathroom. The fitter didn't turn up today. I phoned him and he said he thought he told me the next visit would be Tuesday. Oh well, he promised it will be finished on Wednesday at the latest.

In other news I had to contact Amazon today. A back up hard drive I got from them stopped working, and I deduced the cable was at fault. I had a look at my order on line and for support it said 'did I want them to call'. I  said yes and immediately got a call, and 10 minutes later I had a credit on my account so I could purchase a replacement cable, next day delivery. And no need to return the faulty one. On the other hand we also had to contact John Lewis as our new bedroom curtains were promised for today. I phoned customer support, was in a queue for 10 minutes and when I got through they couldn't help because the order number didn't start with a 5 or 6 so they couldn't find it. I needed to contact the store, but you can't do that. They could only request the store to phone us. They haven't. The website actually says if you need to speak to a particular store it's best that you make a personal visit. I know people complain about Amazon's dominance, but customer service is one of the reasons they are so successful.

One year ago:
Hip Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.