WATER WATER EVERY WHERE.........

A lovely day today.  It started off with my usual Monday Tai Chi session, which was great and, as always, much needed. Then Hubby and I popped into Grange to do a few chores and decided whilst we were out we might as well "force" ourselves to go somewhere for lunch again.

We decided we'd go to Cafe Ambio at the Lakeland Motor Museum in Backbarrow, as we hadn't been in a while and for me to take some shots of the river in full flow.

Still some fields flooded off the A581 near Newby Bridge but not too bad.  The cafe wasn't too busy but what surprised me most was very few people were wearing masks, including staff!!!  That did make me feel  bit uncomfortable.  However we managed to get a table in a corner out of the way and the food was delicious.

We then went for a walk into Lakeland Village, crossing over the footbridge, walking through the village and onto the road bridge by The Whitewater Hotel (the site of the old Dolly Blue factory).  They've blocked off the spiral stairway overlooking the river, for obvious reasons and one look at it would have put me off going down there anyway.

Then just went back home via Haverthwaite and The Mosses (the B5278).  

Then I got a message from my great friend Ann's daughter to say she was going to be in Lancaster in mid November to visit her daughter who as it Uni there and would like to meet up.  What a lovely surprise.  So now I just have to think where is best to meet up.  I've an idea but it will depend on the weather really.  Really looking forward to seeing her after all these years.  Ann is my great friend from Somerset and with whom I have been to many Cliff Richard and Michael Ball concerts.  In fact twice we went on coach trips to Germany to see Cliff in six concerts across Europe in a week - boy that was fun.  Such wonderful memories and times.

I've enclose another collage of some of the River Leven shots I took today.  If you look carefully you might spot what looks like the Nessie of The River Leven plus the bottom right hand side is the sky outside our window from last night.  The sky went very dark but with a really orange hue - I wondered how best to try and capture it and decided against the big tree would be best.  

Do take care folks and stay safe.  A little rain today but a much better day weather-wise.  The odd short, but very heavy shower otherwise quite dry for a change - yeaahhhhh!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.