Gilberto

A fun coffee catch up this morning with a photo society pal at Pellicci's café in the Bethnal Green Road. The conversation rambled around and after breakfast we went round the corner to Oxford House. I hadn't heard of this establishment which was set up by philanthropic Victorians from Oxford university to provide welfare for the poor of the east end.

Fascinating stuff enhancing my theory that London is infinite - there is always something new to discover and you will never see it all.

Bidding farewell I was pedalling along and spotted this fellow outside a scooter delivery depot having a break. I was intrigued by the stick in his hair so I stopped to investigate. He explained that it is a chopstick which helps hold his top knot in place.

Of Portuguese and French descent he confirmed that he now regards himself as a Londoner. He lives nearby and named the street and his house and that I am welcome to call by to take pictures of his kids. Thanks for the portrait, Gilberto. I will drop a print in for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.