Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Happy Reunion

I know I'm too late for the Wide Wednesday challenge but I tagged this anyway.  This is Wednesday's blip, backblipped on Thursday.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting!

I took this shot through the windshield of my friend's Tesla (yes, Tesla!) on our way to reunite with the other two members of our dinner group.  The last time we saw each other was February 2020, just before the lockdown.  We probably shouldn't have all hugged each other but we couldn't help ourselves!  We all worked together several years ago.  I was the first to leave when I retired in 2007.  Then our youngest member left for a better position as did one of the others.  The last hold out finally retired about 5 years ago.  Through it all, we've been meeting for a monthly dinner....until Covid.  I'm so grateful that we are finally able to get together again!  

We met at a bistro in Golden, home of Coors Brewery.  I haven't been there in years and I forgot what an interesting downtown area it has.  I may go back during the day and wander with my camera.  I was happy that Deb volunteered to drive.  Her car is amazing!  It doesn't have a key.  It's connected to her phone and when she used it to open the doors, the car woke up and was ready to go.  She got in and the seat adjusted itself to her liking and all she had to do was step on the accelerator.  The inside is pristine.  There are no gauges or anything on the smooth dashboard, only a screen about the size of an average laptop.  That's the control center for everything.  She turned on the autopilot while she entered our destination into the GPS, set the climate control and seat heaters and turned on soft music.  Then she took over driving because it makes her nervous to let the car drive itself.  It was doing a fine job, though.  "Tesla's Autopilot system uses eight cameras, 12 ultrasonic sensors and forward radar to read lane lines and detect nearby cars and hazards."  Of course, it parks itself and will back out of a parking space before anyone even gets in!  When it was parked, we got out and closed the doors and it put itself to sleep.  I don't usually get excited about cars but this is like something from "The Jetsons". :-)

I'll be adding today's blip soon and then trying to catch up with all of your blips.  The catching up may not happen until tomorrow, though. xx 

This fills the screen if you look in large. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.