JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 307: First Frost

My neighbour C, who has gardened here for about fifty years, always tells me that the first frost will come around the fifth of November. He was right again: I came down to the kitchen to find dazzling sun, newly risen over the Downs, breaking through the mist which filled the valley and illuminating sparkling frosty grass. I had to be quick, J was waiting for my assistance to get up, but I was glad I rushed to the balcony for half a dozen quick photos, because a little later J's PA S phoned to tell me she was feeling rather unwell and ask if I wanted her to come or would prefer her to stay away. Her symptoms sounded similar to what I had experienced the previous day, and by the time I spoke to her I was feeling fine, but I'm being very cautious and trying hard to avoid J catching anything, as any bug always exacerbates the effects of her cerebral palsy, so I told S to rest and spent the rest of the day supporting J with activities.

The morning online Art Talk run from her care centre was on Picasso, and she had posted two favourite paintings and prepared some comments on her communication software. The group had a lively discussion, and I enjoyed being back with them for the first time in a while. After lunch, we shot the title and credit sequences for her pressed leaf animation. I had hoped S would finish this with her, but there is a deadline so we needed to push on with it. We made good progress, with J controlling the camera from the computer and me setting up the photos on the light box, and then added the sequences to J's edit. By the time we stopped for a rather late dinner, we were confident that we would only need one more session to finish. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.