dfb24

By dfb24

Planter

I was at the hospital all day so I just snapped a close-up of one of my planters when I got home. Tom continues to improve & even cracked a couple of jokes, which is the way I gauge how he's really feeling; no jokes=bad & jokes=better. Between last night and this afternoon he received 3 units of blood and two units of platelets. His hemoglobin was 5.5 before the transfusions, which is extremely low (normal is 13.5-17.5) and his platelets were 8,000 (normal is 150,000-400,000), so no wonder he's feeling a little perkier after the transfusions. The Cancer Dr. said she wants to keep him at least another two or three days, as his labs are still not back to normal. Once they're normal, they plan to re-start his new chemo injections, but at a much lower dose, and they want him in the hospital for the first two doses, just to make sure he doesn't have a repeat of what happened on Tuesday, which is fine by me. SO much better to have him observed closely so that if he has problems they'll be on it right away. I'm so grateful for the excellent doctors & nurses he's had--they've all been wonderful. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.