GREENODD TO ROUDSEA

Backblipped - Photos taken on 4/11 but added to Blip on 5/11.

What a really lovely day,  both weather-wise and friendship-wise.

At long last CumbriaLass, Fletch and I had our mini Blip-meet.  We decided to walk over the Leven from Greenodd and go to Roudsea Woods and back again.  

The bakery there has always had a great reputation for food and at least there would be facilities for me.  They have, however, moved - just to the tiny industrial estate down the road.  Their website states "plenty of parking" - ummm Naaah - enough for 6 cars if you are lucky. otherwise wherever you can find.

I turned up early, as I always do, but arrived at the same time as a huge lorry was parked so I had to do a slalom, only to find out there was nowhere to park.  I just scooted up to the very top of the village where there was some space.  They had something on at The Village Hall to and of course I had to arrived at that time!!!

Anyway we did meet up, the weather was glorious.  As CumbriaLass had managed to get a space near the bakery we tried to find the path under dual carriageway - after a false start we were very kindly directed by someone, clambered over a low wall and then walked under the underpass.  However there were some flooded areas which took a bit of navigation - but we made it.

It was a lovely walk and Fletch really enjoyed sniffing about and the odd roly poly.  

We ended up back the cafe and I got the lasts vacant table.  Food was OK, but I think I chose the wrong thing.  The quiche I ordered was just that, served cold and no side salad.  Never mind it was still tasty, I will know another time to ask to have it warmed up.  

The cafe is extremely busy though and hardly anyone was masked, including staff - so not too sure about that. 

We said we would meet up again in December, weather permitting, will have to think of somewhere else then.  

After I got home, I tried processing the photos I took - unfortunately the laptop was incredly slow and I had to give up.  Never mind I'll back-blip I thought, not realising just how long it would take (another story for the 5th).

That's all folks.  I will catch up on your blips as soon as I can.  Take care, stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

PS:  In extra are two collages from our lovely day out, including some photos of the gorgeous Fletch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.