YEW BARROW WOODS

The weather was so lovely today, Hubby wanted to do a few final bits in Grange before Lock Down 2, G was recovering from one of his bad spells yesterday so I decided to go out all on my own, just locally.  I was inspired by Knottman2 and wanted to go Fungi spotting in a woodland setting.

I parked up at Hampsfell Car Park, only just managed to get in as it was almost full, but then it is only £1 all day for the workers if they get there before 9 a.m. so fair enough.

I then popped into the wood right next to it.  This time however I headed upwards, through the little woods, up onto the road, pass Hampsfell House Hotel, up the hill again and into Yew Barrow Woods.  I've never actually been in there before so it was a new adventure for me.

I was heading up hill, but it was somewhat steep, which I think I could have managed, very slowly but because of all the rain it was slippy under foot, mostly due to slippy tree roots so decided just to walk along the side path, which narrowed considerably in places.  Luckily I didn't meet anyone coming the other way.

Saw some horses in the field and a lady attending to their feed.  I only went a little way up because being on my own I was bit nervous with it being so slippy.

I then turned round, went back down the hill, almost slipped but stopped myself.  Found quite a few fungi, so now I will have to sit and Google them all to find their names, I do recognise most but just don't know their names.

Also managed to capture a Robin singing merrily in the trees, but all other birds, although I could hear them I couldn't see them.

That took me about an hour and a half, so not a long walk, but good enough for me and certainly much better than sitting indoors.

The only person I spotted on the way to the woods was one older lady walking her dog, we just said hello as socially distanced passed each other, then another lady with her dog coming behind me as I was returning, she was so busy on her mobile that she didn't even notice I was there and not admiring the scenery at all!!!!!

Then came home for lunch.  All in all a lovely morning out.  

In the extras are a couple of collages I have made of the fungi and other things I saw today.  Definitely going out earlier suits me better.  May try somewhere else tomorrow if weather still good, but it will still only be local due to Lock Down of course, so around Grange, Allithwaite etc.

Hope you have all had a good day.  

The news from across the Pond is amazing me, I just cannot believe how many people still vote for, well you know who!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway enough of that, I'm not going to spoil a good day out.  I'm just focussing on keeping my loved ones and myself as safe as possible.

Please do take care and loo after yourselves.  Stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.