First nearlyfrost.

I hadn't, until today, seen the Min part of the Max/Min thermometer anywhere close to 0˚C. Today I wasn't vertical soon enough to look out and see - BUT - my Oca Crop is somewhat frost-tender and last check it said harvest after frost hits the tops. A search today expanded on the theorem, thus:-
"~ ~ ~ It is vital to leave the plants a good week or more after they are completely killed killed by frost. We have found that even after the leaves have died down, food is pulled back into the growing tubers as the stems die down.  Our tubers doubled in size a fortnight _after_ the plants had been killed by frost.  So do not dig too early!  You may want to protect with fleece if an early frost threatens.~ ~ ~ " 
which is:- 
A) Longer than previous advice.
B) From a Brit page and ergo more likely to be pertinent to my neck o' the Woods.
So - I shall do as bid. It'll probably now be after lodging Chez Jerra whilst I convalesce at the soonest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.