My digital lifeline

I discover on the train to Edinburgh this morning I’ve   forgotten my iPhone.
 
What to do? M dropped me off at the station and unless I contact him to let him know my return journey I face a long walk home in the dark.
 
There are lots of police, thanks to COP26, in Waverley station.
I ask one for the nearest public phone.
He shakes his head. 
“There aren’t any in Edinburgh.”
 
Suddenly I realize   even if there were I had no coins since I no longer carry cash for we have moved seamlessly into the contactless society.
He suggests I ask someone if I can borrow their phone.
 
Well, I didn’t fancy that.
 
Later in the day I spot an Information booth.
 
The kind woman there offers me her phone. Except M does not answer the landline cause he is out in the garden and I can’t remember his mobile number.
Suddenly I remember my birthday present- a few taps on my smart watch and up pops my contact list with his mobile number.
Phew!
 
So that’s why its another photo of Teddy and not one of  Edinburgh.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.