Living my dream

By Mima

B-Day minus 1 =

= build-up day 6.

It’s the final build-up day. Tomorrow the B-Day. (Not to be confused with bidet.)

To mark the last day in my 50s, A took me to the cinema. J has eyesight problems and doesn’t enjoy movies these days.

We saw “Becoming Cousteau”: a fascinating insight into Jacques Cousteau’s extraordinary life. 90 minutes didn’t do it justice and I’m keen to find out much more.

His words from the 70s about the threat humans posed to the planet were prescient. And surely it’s no coincidence that the film is being shown now, while the “blah, blah, blah” goes on at COP26?

There were no posters advertising the film, so we took this one standing in front of the screen, just as we left the auditorium. There was minimal lighting.

It has been a wonderful week of diverse treats, for body, soul and brain. Friendship is one of the most wonderful things in life. I am thankful for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.