Sewing and coffee and a view......

a super way to start my day! Today I've been cutting out more squares for another apron. A friend has asked me to make her one and I'm doing it out of a duvet cover and pillowcases from the community shop. Little did I know that the items had been donated by her! I can get all the squares I need from just the pillowcases which have three different patterns and also a plain navy. I'll have to have another project from the duvet cover itself. The fabric is in pristine condition, hardly used I think. I'm thinking that bold pattern might be good as a sort of 60's fashioned shift dress! Might give it a go as there'll be nothing lost, just need to find a pattern and I'm sure eBay will provide.
Reg and I took a stroll round the village late afternoon but he didn't want to go far, having had a long hike with Barry yesterday. It was good to stretch my legs and have some time outside.
Mum was very jolly this evening as Charlotte had been to visit her this morning. She'd also spent the afternoon with Pauline, her friend, so a lovely day for her. Good to hear her happy. The only struggle she's having at the moment is with the dinners. There has been lots of problems with the food provided, which they pay for. Unfortunately you can't opt out but as far as I'm concerned the food is not nutritionally balanced, especially for older people and highly carb based, very little vegetables. Some days mum says she can't even eat what is provided, not because she doesn't like it but because it is too tough or unrecognisable! They are having a 'kitchen surgery' soon so people can air their views, and I think mum will definitely be airing hers! One of the men has been taking photos each day and he will be going along too. I do hope they sort it out.
Tomorrow morning I'm on teas and coffees at the village hall and then probably more square cutting and possibly sewing.
Happy weekend one and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.