Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Manse

This morning I joined a few other volunteers who are about to embark on a project to document the historic buildings in Cumbernauld Village. We met with a couple of staff from Archaeology Scotland outside the manse of Cumbernauld Old Parish Church and learned how to go about this task, looking at different features, what to look out for, etc. and recording the results.

The weather was not kind to us, torrential rain and strong winds, so we huddled (in a socially distanced kind of way!) under a gazebo in the Manse grounds until there was nothing else for it but to go out and do our thing. We got wet!

After a couple of hours we took a break and, while some of the group headed off to buy coffee and cake at a local bakery, I made my way to the community 'shed' to scoff my packed lunch. Another wee education session followed and as I took my leave to go and watch the football (Falkirk 1-1 Alloa) the others made their way back up to the manse to continue with the project.

It was informative and, despite the weather, enjoyable. I suspect our next get-together might be in the spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.