Sunset on Wildwood Mountain

I spent the rainy morning trying to stretch my dwindling supply of my favorite Kaffe Fasset fabrics.. I based the quilt on a fabric  that I think I probably purchased before we moved here.I even tried to locate it online but  I can't find it anywhere...even in the 'vintage' collections. I spent all morning trying to design a second checkerboard square that would compliment the ones I've made so far,  but finally gave up and decided that I will make squares until I run out of this fabric and that will determine the size of this quilt. 

It rained most of the night last night. John measured over 2" in one of the many empty buckets he has scattered around. It is still a relief to have the rain, and I'm still happy to see it and hear it on the roof at night.  Perhaps it enhances our Covid related isolation which went on for so long that we have grown to enjoy it. The one who really doesn't understand it is Spike, who doesn't mind getting wet nearly as much as we do.

Hearing a really loud and unfamiliar sound from the end of the street this morning we headed out through the drizzle to see what was going on. It appears that the County has stepped up to clear the blocked culverts which direct the water from the hill under the street and into the creek. During last month's deluge the water overflowed the drainage ditches and flooded the street, or what is left of it, since it hasn't been repaved since it was originally put in during the 60's.

The log jam in the creek isn't going anywhere and, in fact, looks like it is trapping more debris. The water has risen with last night's rain and is brown and muddy again, but is staying within its banks by burrowing under the log jam. Apparently the creeks are the responsibility of the Federal Army Corps of Engineers. They have been contacted but there's no telling how long it will take them to respond. Our neighbor's building site, the one that's not in the rocks, is once again a lake.

It's a shame that they had to wait a whole year, a year that had less rain than we have already had in the last two weeks, before they could even begin the building process, which is now temporarily stalled by almost constant rain.

The sun came out just in time to set but not before providing a nice picture of the light on the vineyards on Wildwood Mountain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.