The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Copper beech with building site

The building site at my workplace is being dismantled. Work isn't quite finished yet, the insulation is still going on, but in a few weeks' time the cones and barriers will be gone, and a new building will be ready for use.

I can't remember a huge amount about the day (this is a backblip). I did an extra half hour at work, and then went home via the charity shops. I managed to buy a black jacket, but when I tried it on at home, Steve said it was too severe for its intended purpose. Ah well, I'm going to a funeral on Friday, anyway.

When I got home, I had to start to prepare for the First Scary Event, an internal Teams presentation of my cards and stationery products for employees of a large building society based in Swindon. I wrote a script and spent ages making a physical background of advent calendars, etc, and grouping things into categories for on-screen demos. Then I thought I'd better learn about Teams. That's why Steve and I were Team-calling each other at 11pm in the dining room! My Mac laptop is so unreliable that we decided I'd better use Steve's for the actual presentation.

I was so wired I didn't go to bed until about 1am. Still, I reckoned it wouldn't be long until the presentation was over and I could concentrate on the events of the next few days.

Did I mention that two orders of cards arrived at once, and I had the joy of unpacking them, too? At least I know that my virtual shop for the Building Society has gone live, because I have had a small web order from.a Swindon-based customer with a corporate email address.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.