WIDE WEDNESDAY - COMPLETELY "OFF PISTE"!

I decided to do the Wide Wednesday challenge this week and had something in mind - but there is a story behind it but you will have to wait until next week to hear/see it.

Having been out to find my Wide Wednesday shot, I came back indoors and looked at the theme for today, only to find it was “Sky” - well, who wants to see a shot of a completely grey sky?  I certainly didn’t want that to be my Blip for today and I was sure you wouldn’t want to see a grey, dismal sky either, so here is a lovely bright shot of the pyracantha berries, also known as firethorn, on our neighbours’ back fence, which is opposite our kitchen window.

I’m just hoping that there is no truth in the old wives’ tale that a heavy crop of berries is the sign of a harsh winter ahead, with nature providing extra food for the birds to get them through.

In any event, they look beautiful and fitted the bill for a Wide Wednesday shot.  I have just done some research and Mr. Google tells me that pyracantha berries, which are high in Vitamin C, are entirely edible, and are perfect for jam - made into pyracantha jelly.  However, I don’t think I will bother with making any because a further search said : “The main risk with ingestion of large quantities of berries is mild gastrointestinal irritation such as nausea and vomiting, which would happen within 15 to 30 minutes.” I also noted that “some birds get a little “tipsy” after eating them”, so perhaps it would be best for me to keep well away.

“The winter is kind 
     and leaves red berries 
          on the boughs 
               for hungry sparrows.”
John Geddes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.