and through the wire...

By hesscat

Arniston Bridge #11

It's taken some effort to prepare for bridge 11. known in these parts as Sandy's Bridge, in further parts as Braidwood Bridge, built in the 1930s. It's maybe 200m further upstream from #10, Horace. What I didn't realise was it was constructed using the parapets of the 1811 Carrington Mill Bridge which I discovered and blipped earlier this year that I thought was quite dangerous as it, you guessed, had no parapets :-0. What's weird though is this bridge has the inscription from the old bridge, so I see people quoting it being built in 1811. I think I am 3 bridges away from the Mill bridge. It was very difficult to get decent views of this bridge from the ground so I had to get up higher. 

A few years ago I helped clean up a lot of the rubbish underneath it, often stuck in the river. As with most rural areas where waste facilities have charges for people to dump their rubbish, we get a lot of fly-tipping here. A van draws up, old chairs, tables etc, maybe from house clearouts just get thrown out, sometimes on the road, sometimes in front of gates, and sometimes over this bridge. As I was walking about, there were big armchairs, bags, microwaves, it's impossible to stop this happening. It's infuriating, and if possible I'd be happy to dump it back where it came from - it wasn't me your honour!

Some 20 years ago a local person found a rolled up carpet under the bridge and eventually decided to cut it up to help dispose of it. As they opened it up they found a dead body, someone who was murdered 9 months earlier some 40 miles away and was wrapped up and tipped over the bridge.

Anyways.... (eek)... this bridge is far from my favourite to the point where I think I don't like it, but here's a postcard I found (but why?). There is one more bridge further upstream, which so far I have not intended on blipping although I have never seen it side on, I might do a recce to decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.