pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Mea Culpa

The Youngest had been looking for her small stash of Pokemon cards everywhere, but had been unable to find them.

In a recent unused toy/pile o’ crap purge, I was pretty sure that I had thrown them out, but didn’t have the heart to tell her in case I hadn’t. She had that frustration upon her of knowing that something should be in a specific place, but isn’t and unfortunately she turned a little bit unpleasant, so it was quite a difficult start to the day, which saw her stomping off up the road. Eventually, she crossed back over to join us in floods of tears and buried her head into me as she sobbed “I’m sorry, Daddy!”

They always seem to be a little but difficult on changeover days. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, who knows? Either way, racked with guilt, I’ve found a vendor online who dispatches 50 misc. cards IN A TIN, which should hopefully buy my way back into my daughter’s affections. I’m not proud. I ate a pot noodle yesterday, which proves it.

It was just The Eldest and I for tea, so after yesterday’s culinary fail, I whipped up our favourite chorizo, mozzarella and gnocchi bake which we devoured in front of the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air – even in its later, weaker episodes, Will Smith continues to shine with charm and charisma oozing out of every pore. It’s a rare gift. So few of us have it……..

I headed out after to see a friend for a couple of glasses of wine and some really good drizzle cake, which served as a nice relaxing end to what started as quite a stressful guilt-ridden day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.