Winter Wheels, Tobacco, and Rusty

The frozen snow seems reluctant to melt so we decided driving around on summer tyres was probably not sensible. Perhaps winter really is here. I thought about changing the wheels myself, as I usually do, but Jan suggested checking if the tyre workshop could do it for us.  They could, and it would take 15 minutes and cost 400SKR (about £35). I considered my options.
I could be a real man and sit out in the damp freezing weather for about 90 minutes, humping heavy wheels around, wielding a large spanner, jacking the car up (x4) etc, or I could be a wimp, and hand the keys to a muscular youth who would drive the car into the workshop, use all the professional tools, and hand me back the car 15 minutes later.  I decided wimpiness was the future.  In the event we also got a free cup of coffee while we waited.
Once in town we had a few more jobs to do within the 4 hour period we could leave Rusty sleeping at home. Towards the end of the day the sun popped out from under the cloud and illuminated the rather lovely building in town that everone calls "Tobaksmonopol" (Tobacco monopoly).  It was built around 1920 by the Swedish State Monopoly for production and sale of cigarrettes and cigars. The tobacco monopoly was introduced to provide funds for the Swedish military during WW1, and to finance the new pension system. The monopoly lasted until 1961 and production of cigars continued in this building until 1997.  For many years after that the building was empty and no-one knew quite what to do with the place. Nowadays it is a rather smart place to have your offices, and also houses the Swedish Boat museum.
Once home I walked out with Rusty as it got dark. Having a layer of snow on the ground is a definite advantage if you are walking the fields long after the sun has set.
Yesterday picture was backblipped, just before this one went up. A rather nice picture of Rusty, backlit by the sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.