The Eleventh Hour Of The Eleventh Day ...

... Of The Eleventh Month.

I had to go to the village so timed it in order to pay my respects at the war memorial. As we approached just before eleven the village green was empty. Then the man above appeared and some walkers arrived. The man placed three crosses on the memorial with great dignity and reverence. The sun was shining brightly and I was quite moved.

After the two minute silence I asked him who in particular he had come to remember. It was his great-grandfather Derbyshire and other Derbyshire forebears. I was pleased when I saw in my image on screen that his relatives' names can be seen.

Also on the memorial are two members of the Dormer family. Harry Dormer, an old man at the time from that family, used to help MrQ trim the cucumbers when he started in the nursery business at eighteen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.