Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

High

Lennoxtown. I've driven through it. I've walked past it. I don't recall ever having walked around it. That changed today.

A short afternoon drive got me there and, having parked my car, I went for a wee wander. A short hop got me onto a woodland path beside the Glazert Water. I followed that for a bit, crossed the main road and did a loop that brought me out at the ruins of Campsie High Church (today's Blip). This imposing, former A-listed building was opened in 1828, was sold when the congregation merged with another in the area and was then devastated by fire in 1984.

From there it was a short walk down to the War Memorial, a stone arch, and the main road. By then it had started to rain and although it was barely 3pm it was getting quite dull. Time to return to the car and then home. I've since found online a suggested, and slightly longer, trail around the town but that can wait for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.