FLOWER FRIDAY - CHRYSANTHEMUM "TULA SHARLETTA"

When I first woke this morning, I could hear the rain pattering against the window, so just snuggled down again under the duvet - because I can!  That’s one of the joys of being retired - if you don’t feel like getting up, you don’t need to.

Mr. HCB had already gone downstairs, so I slept on for a couple more hours and was then woken by the sun that was evident even through our thick curtains.  

Once downstairs, the sun disappeared, but I went out into the garden to take some photographs of the various chrysanthemums that Mr. HCB has grown and this one, named “Tula Sharletta” caught my eye. However, I got quite wet because it started raining whilst I was out there, but I just carried on undeterred. 

According to the blurb in the Woolmans’ Catalogue “These chrysanthemums from the Tula series, resemble that of an exuberant firework display, providing colour during the autumn months.  They have striking flower shapes as well as rich and harmonising colours.”  They have been a joy and delight since they first started flowering sometime ago, and many of them are still flowering now, so the blurb is quite right!

After a long night of rain, the garden is saturated, so Mr. HCB is upstairs doing some decluttering on his old stamp collection and in the many boxes he shoved underneath the desk - I need to write and go over to the Post Office to send off a couple of cards, so hope the rain soon stops, because it’s that light drizzle that gets you wet before you know it.  

Thank you to everyone who left a star, heart or lovely comment on yesterday’s Blip of Uncle Ernest - Mr. HCB was very touched.

"Every year, in November, 
     at the season that follows the hour of the dead, 
          the crowning and majestic hours of autumn, 
I go to visit the chrysanthemums…
     they are indeed, the most universal,
          the most diverse of flowers."
Maurice Maeterlinck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.