Beech

After baking another batch of cupcakes, I took a few hours break from wedding preparations this morning, working with KP to create fungi from crepe paper. It was the first time I'd done this - the construction was quite fiddly but very absorbing and I was pretty satisfied with my first attempt.

After lunch I went for a walk in Southey Wood, where the beeches are just about perfect, though perhaps not as brilliantly coloured as in previous years. Once again, fungi were very sparse, though it's now quite late in the season for many species. 

This evening I'm feeling a little bit anxious - our elderly cat Poppy (19 and a half) didn't turn up for her tea, which is not like her. She's a very outdoor cat, who tends to shift her favourite sleeping spots, We're not sure where she's going at the moment - we've searched the garden and road but with no success. She might well have been shut into a neighbour's shed. Hopefully she'll turn up in the morning. If not we'll alert all the neighbours to look out for her....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.