The Arboretum

We woke fog as thick as pea soup this morning (or sea poop as we used to call a morning like this when I lived on the shores of Cape Ann, Massachusetts...an expression probably best left there!). And it thickened more as we drove to the Arboretum which is higher in elevation. There's something so magical about fog to me...it seems to heighten the senses, or certainly skew them. 

The Arboretum still has lovely autumnal colors, made more vibrant in a way by the fog. The main is the beech grove - some leaves still clinging to the branches and the ground carpeted with copper. 

In the extras, which I'm squandering because I took so many images I liked...fungi at the base of an enormous Doug Fir - Pseudotsuga menziesii a native Pacific NW tree. The next another view of the arboretum in fog, and finally, peering into the fabulous Sierra Redwood - Sequoiadendron giganteum

It was my grandson's 4th birthday today, so my son brought the kids over. We had a birthday lunch and a shorter than usual visit since the kids both seemed tired. My granddaughter (8 years old) had her first Covid vaccination on Friday and I think she was reacting to it, at least her arm hurt a lot. The little one was just sort of fried from all the birthday-goings-on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.