Starlings on High Wires

On telephone wires, shaped in a V, starlings sit.
More arrive, others leave, return, and scratch a bit.
They preen their feathers, then more sitting,
coming, going, staying, flitting ...

So the game repeats itself. Though keeping on their mettle,
usually, the starlings soon appear as if to settle.
So what makes one (there's always one) decide to disapprove
of where it's perching, suddenly, and make a modest move?

© Celia Warren 2021

After a bad night, going back to sleep when I should have been getting up, I wasn't dressed till gone 10.00am. But after a slow morning, we went for a lovely long walk this afternoon. Clocked up 67 minutes on my FitBit and over 10,000 steps. Rather dull, but dry and warm enough when walking, even if the grass was a tad wet.

Hope all the exercise will help me sleep better tonight. (If I can just stop coughing ....!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.