"Holiday House"

Thank you for all the words of congratulation on my yesterblip on the birth of our grandson. Very much appreciated. Wish my late parents could see him and his big sister, they'd be so thrilled. But it's our turn to be grandparents again, and we're loving it.

This journal entry is back-blipped as I was simply too exhausted to blip by evening:

Little Miss B woke at 5.30a.m. and was on the go till she fell asleep in bed at 7.00-ish after I'd read only a few pages of her current favourite book. Phew! The day included making a Welcome card for her baby brother, filling two hanging baskets (that strangely enough her mum hadn't had time to do), watching Sarah and Duck (it was raining most of the day), playing on her scooter when it stopped - when her other granny arrived to help and give us a short break, playing other games and looking at books, and creating this "Holiday House" in the corner of the living room. Her cosy bed is on the left and to the right are her travel bags that await unpacking. I'm invited to sit in the yellow chair when I visit. I had to ring the pretend door bell. Later in the day, though, when I went 'ding dong' again, she spun round and looked at the back door, clearly thinking I was alerting her to her parents' return. I felt a pang. She's missing them a lot, but coping well. 

Some hours after she was asleep, our daughter rang to say she was being discharged. They decided to spend their first night sleeping at our house, so as not to disturb LMB in the night, and unsettle everyone at the wrong time of day. It was the right decision as their daughter did wake in the wee small hours. They called briefly to collect the Moses basket, so we had our first little glimpse of the beautiful boy.

But now I'm getting ahead of myself ... more on my next blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.