Something nice!

That is tonight's dinner - home made prawn korma with cauliflower rice. It took me a long time, with our kitchen part dismantled, but was worth it.

I started work a bit later than I would have liked, because I simply couldn't get up. Had a late night because I was engrossed in my family history research - Jon's family actually. I am looking for different men (I suppose it could be women too) who might have served in the military. Last night I was looking at Ernest Pratt, who would have been Jon's great uncle - although Jon isn't aware of him, so I will have to talk to my inlaws about that. He was a Gunner in the Royal Field Artillery, and would have been awarded the Victory and the British War Medals. He had some interesting snippets on his short service papers, and I built up a picture in my mind of this small 18 year old. I haven't worked out exactly where he served/fought, but he had a flurry of misdemeanors which are recorded. Mainly going AWOL overnight, and was punished with a deduction in his pay. Once he was drunk on a football pitch, and used obscene language to his NCO. It's great social history. So that's why I was up late.

A few hours at work, and then i had a call from the police who said they thought our caravan had been found, and we would need to collect it ASAP. I rang the recovery yard to ask about the condition. The lady was friendly but said the front window was missing, and it was piled up inside. She couldn't really tell me much. I needed to go and see for myself. So at lunchtime I drove over to the recovery yard in Fakenham who were holding it. Never had I imagined in my wildest nightmares, the absolute devastation of our lovely caravan. It was totally trashed. Raped and pillaged of every single item, bar the duvets and sheets. Windows and doors all removed. Everything broken and our possessions missing. Half an hour later I came away, with the sole desire to wash my hands and change my clothes. It had been so horrible, smelly and dirty pulling about the 'stuff' to see if anything of ours had been left. I decided I didn't want it as my blip.

It's a kind of closure though. We now know that there are some seriously deranged people/ animals in these parts. I will speak to the PC when he is back on duty Friday. We don't intend collecting it. It isn't safe or salvageable. The caravan will have to be taken to a scrap yard by the police.

So not a lot of work done. I didn't feel much like doing anything in the afternoon, but at 4pm Ralph came and curled up on my seat with me like he did last week. Finished before 5 and have been updating things on Facebook. So many kind people shared the 'stolen caravan' post so I needed to update.

Some tv. I don't think I'm going to get to my sewing machine now. Jon and Henry are taking off the radiator. Tomorrow the wall comes down, and THAT is a really big positive! Looking forwards...just that. Forwards.

Thanks everyone for your kind words and support over the last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.