What a difference a day makes

The plan for today was to move the mountain of boxes of air hockey/table football/pool (miniature) to the designated areas spout by ages and to try and sort out the boxes of gifts left over from last year. With a little help from 3 guys who came in to seal up some sneaky wee air holes which were letting in the less and warm air, we moved the boxes from last year and started sorting through the contents and redistributing to the correct age groups.

Before the guys turned up I moved the mountain of boxes, 150 or thereabouts, to the age groups. It meant loading then 6 at a time in a trolley and walking 50 feet or so to unload. As each box weighed on average 10kg I reckon I’ve lifted over 1500kg as they weren’t the only boxes I moved. Boy do my arms and shoulders feel it now! I hope I can move tomorrow.

There was some more general tidying up and looking through the applications to see where our areas of greatest need will be before we were ready to call it a day.
It was an excellent first day and we’re ready for the first set of volunteers to arrive in the morning. Long day though as I arrived at 8.45 and left at 17.45. Traffic was reasonably light and I was home by 6.30 and dinner was almost ready.

A lovely hot bath and a restorative glass of red wine have made me feel a little more human but as I just couldn’t get to sleep till gone 3 last night I think I’m heading fit an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.