Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Plain Jane's Spouse

About a week ago, I blipped a female House Finch as #48 on my Yardbird List.  Today, lacking any time to really do much of anything in the way of photos, I give you --- Mister Jane!  Not quite so plain although not as colorful as some males of the species.  But I liked the way he was set off by the last of the fall colors on our cherry tree.

It's been a busy day.  Jax had his first appointment with our vet today and it went very well.  I had to carry him inside because he refused to go through the door.  Once in the waiting room, however, he settled in and then proceeded to charm everyone including the UPS delivery man.  We had a similar resistance when it came time to go into the exam room but then Dr Dana won him over with treats which he sat nicely for.  He got two shots, the first a non event and the second a full-blown meltdown.  More treats resulted in full forgiveness.  Then, he wouldn't go out the door, so once again I carried him out.  He weighs 29 pounds now, by the way.  All of it squirmy.  

All was good - he's got a fair number of big-dog teeth but the vet estimates a few more months of teething and she made some recommendations to help us all get through it.  She also put him on a short course of antibiotics because he's been licking his naughty bits a lot and showed some signs of possible infection.  He goes back in three weeks for his second distemper and rabies at which point he'll be all done with puppy shots.  And we got an all-in-one tablet for heartworm, ticks and fleas.  Much easier than administering two separate treatments every month.  

I went to the local PetSmart and got a few more toys (based on vet recommendations) so Jax completely wore himself out playing and is now napping next to my desk.  We had a two-day streak with no accidents in the house but that came crashing down when he got overexcited and peed on the stairs late yesterday.  Not his fault, though.  Considering he's just a bit over 4 months, we think he's doing very well on his potty training.  

The trip next June to Texas is coming together nicely - at least two of my fellow Blippers (and hopefully 3) are signing up as well as one of the people I traveled with in Colombia.  It will be a great group of people.  I already sent my deposit in via Venmo this morning so I'm locked in.  

Haven't indulged in the daily chocolate but I'm thinking something with nuts again.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.