Stillness Has A Sound

Phase 1 Day 20. Overcast and cold. Although we live in a ridiculously idyllic location, no honking of cars and motorcycles whizzing by (except for the occasional drinking water delivery), it is rare to have completely quiet moments so decided to tweak my morning routine and read the requisite 10 pages first.
***
Yesterday, after a difficult second workout, I was again tempted to throw in the towel. I had an inner dialogue, asking myself whether am just still doing this out of ego, whether I am chasing the ineffable high of achieving or whether I am really aiming to cultivate the mental toughness I would need to get through inevitable future pains.
***
Initially, I set 11,000 daily steps as one of my "critical tasks" but upon learning that if I am able to do at least 12,500 steps daily until the end of the year, I could potentially reach the 5 million step milestone in my tracker. I am aware it could be material for comedy. No one but myself would care if I reach this goal or not but it gives me that sense of self-efficacy so I plan to continue and choose the "hard" daily until one day each choice becomes instinct.
***
May your day have that kernel of calm within the inescapable chaos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.