JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Birches at Gravelpit Wood.

Up early and organised.  Bang on time the woman about the roller blinds arrived so we were off to a good start.  She measured, I looked at the sample book and in no time it was all done and I was paying a deposit.  I thought there might be trouble with the upstairs window as it tilts but no.  Downstairs it was the colour but that worked out too.  I like plain but nothing was right. However a very simple pattern, almost like a texture was the right shade and did the trick.  Well, I hope so as the blinds weren't cheap.  Afterwards I lay around recovering, nothing to do as the house was clean. Mended a T-shirt and did some washing.  Put filters into a half dozen masks.  It's a bit of a fiddle.  After lunch I went off to  Gravelpit wood to look at the birch plantation there.   It was late in the season for it and there was no sun.  Chilly with quite a breeze.  Took some uninspired photos. Paid a visit to the  World War 2 pillbox which looked at its gloomiest and found some fungi (see extra).  Came back home to tea and cake and lay on the sofa looking at Christmas hoodies.  Why, I don't know as I'm not really into that sort of stuff.  Very nearly bought one but I visualised my 83 year old self in it then Amazon arrived with a book and saved me.  I did buy a rather nice face mask and a pretty snowflake brooch as a more appropriate gesture however.  Sainsbury's sent me an e-mail telling me when I can book a Christmas delivery  Us regulars are getting first dibs this year.  Last year I couldn't get a slot at all.  It's time I did some serious thinking about the festive season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.