Spring Fights Back

Before anything else, thanks so much for the amazing response to yesterday's Alpine Yorkshire. You often help me to see my blips in a new light. I loved the observation that the clouds looked like waves breaking over the crest of the hill. There was also that subtle echo of the skyline in the clouds which made it that extra bit special. I'm deeply honoured by all the comments, stars and hearts.

I've said it before I know, but I'm sure that I'd never have got that shot yesterday were it not for you. I actually had another shot in mind, a view from almost the same point in the opposite direction, but the sun was remaining stubbornly behind a big bank of cloud. I waited for about ten minutes in the hope that it would break through but I simply got too cold and had to move on. I spent about five minutes heading down through a field of deep snow when I suddenly became aware of a break in the clouds. The sun was still hidden but I could see that it would appear soon, although not for long. I had a small window of opportunity so, with a little sigh, I reversed my steps and charged back up again - and got the shot that I blipped, as well as this, a much better version of the shot that I'd been after in the first place. I may well not have made that effort if I was just taking pictures for myself. In fact, I'm certain I wouldn't. So thank you again. Your feedback means the world to me.

I'm feeling much more myself today. I actually went out for a run this morning with a couple of friends, Matt and Ashley, mostly because Matt's not been up here for a while and I've not seen him in many years. I've also been very poor about keeping in touch during that period. We go back a long way and it's fortunate that Matt is one of those guys who you can pick straight back up with as if you'd only just seen him last night. He's a very special guy. As is Ashley. Thanks for making that little adventure happen. I'd almost forgotten the joy of running on the fells with good mates, sharing the landscape and intelligent conversation. It was a privilege. I've put together a little picture story for you here. There's even a shot of me!

I've not been able to spend any time catching up with people today as I'm way behind where I need to be for work. That's still going a bit slowly ... but it's been a great day nonetheless. And we even sat outside to enjoy a cup of coffee in town afterwards. Spring is trying to happen. It's fighting back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.