A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Dropping In

Happy Saturday to you all, or as we like to say around here "Happy Caturday!" What else would you expect from a household with three fat and furry felines? * Speaking of furry, gray squirrels are so entertaining * After filling up feeders with their favored black-oil sun flower seeds, I grabbed my camera and sat a while on the old wooden steps placed near the cherry tree.  It's where I feed the deer during the winter months. The steps really have no other purpose and should be broken down.  I've been meaning to, but somehow never get around to it.  See, the steps are more than just steps. They were Newt's safe place when she was feral.  I think she realized she wasn't going to survive the oncoming winter unless she found food, and that's when we found her on these steps at our front door.  We were unable to make eye contact or come near her but once she saw the food dish placed on the step and we disappeared inside, she would rush to the steps to gobble, and run.  It's a long story as to how we advanced from that to having her inside, but it took three years, and that was three years ago! * When the steps were removed she was not yet in the house so we placed them where she could see and still use them.  Her safe place had been saved, and here they still are, warming my tush while I watch for birds and other wildlife visitors. Maybe I'll remove them next year.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.