Autumn Lingers at Plummer's Hollow

It was a very full day! My husband had errands in Ebensburg, and I went along for the ride. He dropped me off in town, and I did all of the things I enjoy there: shopped in an antique shop, walked around town, photographed some cemeteries. It was all good, and for once, I didn't get rained on while awaiting pick-up at the war memorial.

There was a home Penn State game in town, and we wanted to be sure to wrap things up and get back to our house before it finished, and 100,000 of our closest friends left Beaver Stadium, climbed in their cars, and swarmed the local roadways! So we were under a sort of tight agenda.

We had time for two quick stops on the drive home. One was at the Allegheny Portage Railroad national historic site, where I took speedy pictures of the exhibits, the boardwalk, and T. Tiger sitting in a pile of snow he found in the parking lot.

The final stop was this one, not far from Tyrone. This is Plummer's Hollow, a private, 648-acre reserve whose access point includes railroad tracks (catnip to a girl like me, the daughter of a railroad brakeman) and views along the Little Juniata.

There are still some oranges lingering in these woods, and I included them in the background of this shot of sparkling, cold, clear water, cascading down the hollow. (I also dropped my sunglasses into the leaves just after taking this shot, but fortunately, I found them before we left! Whew!)

My soundtrack song for a lingering autumn is this one: the Cranberries, with Linger.

Bonus link:
Welcome to Plummer's Hollow
(I encourage you to watch the video of the sled ride down the hollow.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.