Singing in Binham Priory

I started the day preparing dinner for this evening. Lasagne. Then made some lower cholesterol pastry with olive oil instead of lard and marg. It was my first go and it worked out better than I had expected. Not short like my usual shortcrust, but definitely edible. I made an apple pie, and 2 mince pies for Jon with what was left.

Mollie went out for the day as Jon and Henry came back in from archery, at around 11.30. So we had coffee.

After lunch, I drove to Binham Priory. A nice drive through pretty little villages, to this impressive building, surrounded by the ruins of most of the priory. The nave of the Priory Church remains in use and is where I met the other singers today. The Priory was founded in 1091 by the nephew of William the Conqueror. It took 150 years to build the church, and was then extended over the centuries following. It was home to a community of Benedictine monks for 400 years until Henry VIII closed the monasteries in 1539.

We sang for 2 hours. People from the group I sing with and also from other groups. It was cold but we went prepared. The acoustics were amazing and we enjoyed the singing and company.

I was back home by 4.40 and have managed to do some work to my walnut mice. Just got to glue the mice in, then 6 more walnut halves to fill. I'll show you them tomorrow- you are all gonna want one!! They are going to set people back fiver though...so I'll have to gamble that they will sell for that!

Some tv now while I attach little wire hooks to my shells. Jon drilled tiny tiny holes in them for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.