OH, WHAT A BEAUTIFUL MORNING!

I had a strange dream just before I woke this morning and remembered it well.  There were lots of people around me, neighbours, people I didn’t know and even people from my working life many years ago.  I was trying to stop a repetitive sound that was coming from a package I was holding, but no-one could help me, so I was getting more and more anxious.  

Then I realised it was part of me - and woke to find it was the alarm on my watch!  Of course, I quickly stopped it and jumped out of bed, because I had intended going out shopping early.  However, after all that angst, I didn’t feel like going, so Mr. HCB persuaded me that tomorrow might be a better time to go.

Once up, I decided that I would go for a wander around the garden, as it was a beautiful sunny morning, albeit very frosty.  It wasn’t actually that cold and at least it got rid of the constant noise in my head.

As I wandered, I realised that there were still many flowers still blooming, although if we have many more overnight frosts, they probably won’t last much longer.   

As I walked along the path at the back of the border, I saw this beautiful little honeysuckle and couldn’t resist pulling it down so that I could smell it - and what an amazing perfume it still has.  It might have been frosted, but it was still releasing that wonderful, powerful scent and I just enjoyed the moment.

Back indoors, I picked up the secateurs and went back out to cut a few chrysanthemums, mostly yellow, because again, if these are left, another frost will probably kill them and it would be shame not to enjoy their beauty on my kitchen windowsill.

I was looking online for “quotes about honeysuckle” and found a different sort of quote to the one I was looking for!  I saw that I could buy a Honeysuckle and Davana (which is apparently an aromatic herb) cologne in a personalised black box, produced by a famous and very rich perfumer, from a famous London store - but it would cost me £102 for 100 millilitres.  No thank you, I will just go out into my garden and enjoy the perfume on my honeysuckle bush for as long as it lasts, for free!

“To be overcome 
     by the fragrance of flowers 
          is a delectable form of defeat.”
Beverly Nichols

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.