Curling for Britain

Met Stewart today outside the gym just as he was leaving after a wheelchair curling session.


Every Monday I see these curlers in the Peak  Sports Village café but I never get a chance to speak to them because I am always running late for my class. But Stewart is loading up his car  so I stop for a chat.
 
That’s when I discover he is a member of the British Curling Squad and they are all in Stirling for some intensive training prior to the Beijing 2022 Paralympic Games next April.
 
 
At the end of the week the squad will be chosen to represent Britain and he hopes to be in the team.
 
Stewart comes from Newcastle and only took up curling elven years go. He became a paraplegic after a road accident as a nine year old. I would love to have talked to him longer but he is on a tight schedule so no time to chat except for a quick photo. 
I wish him luck and hope he gets chosen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.