Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

This Is Very Personal About Me And My Religion

Holy Saturday's discussion between reincarnation and resurrection.

I went to my first Easter Vigil last night. Candles lit from the Holy Pyre, five readings from the Old Testament (including Genesis and Exodus) and two readings from the New Testament were all parts of the ceremony.

There was also the Baptism of those entering the Roman Catholic Church and the renewal of the baptism of those present and open to their renewal. (I accepted my renewed baptism. This was important.) There was also Confirmation and a welcome for the new members.

Obviously, it was a long ceremony, as the term vigil would imply. Over two hours.

What was special for it to me was that it was the first Catholic church service of any kind that I have attended, even though I have continued to think of myself as a Catholic, since my Dad's funeral Mass in 1992.

I was moved. I have been thinking about the Church for many years and it always brings me to tears. I cry as I write this.

I accepted Christ into my life again last night and I have to decide what I'm going to do with that. I can't ignore it. I can't. I felt blessed when the Holy water fell upon me.

I talked to the priest after the Vigil and asked him if I could come in and talk to him. I want to think about the reasons I may need the Church in my life again and ask for his guidance. I will pray about it until I see him.

If nothing else, it will make my mother happy and we can pray, as she grows older, together. I know that's not the best reason, but it's one. And I do love her.

PS I was moved to celebrate in some way, so I made an Easter cow bunny.

Have a happy and Holy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.